Aveyond Studios Community
Sign in to follow this  
DarkShadowsAbove

Things I wish I'd known before I started playing

I tend to find the "Wish I'd known" posts for games quite helpful as a general rule, so I figured I'd start one for AV4.

1. The majority of your time will be spent travelling and there are no accessories to increase your walking speed. *sadness*

2. Fruit drinks (apple, grape, and pineapple) and the super carrot permanently increase various aspects for all party members, so save them until you get everybody. Also, the Priestess Collection quest increases stats for the whole party, so while finding them all can be done at any time, wait to turn in the quest until you have everyone (or even when you turn in Boyle's Bad Luck to save yourself an extra trip.) [Thanks to HunterReese for mentioning the quest]

3. Similarly, level eggs are best used after you have a full roster, though don't worry about the power yams around Delamere because Rowen automatically eats them all and you can't get there without her.

4. The vampire doll in Windshire can be given to someone in Wyrmwood, which starts a chain of doll trading ending in a pretty awesome accessory for Myst. This doesn't appear in your journal, but it's worth doing.

5. Single target multi-hit spells/skills will randomly target other enemies if the initial target dies during the spell/skill.

6. Rowen needs to be taken to the elder oak in Briar Woods to gain sword singer skills from the golden statues. Similarly,

taking Hi'beru back to the sleepless dragon in Whisper Woods will get him a spell book, and Rowen can help the crab guy with his raft.

7. Pay attention when someone says they are the greatest or have the best, they usually do. If they suggest that they need something to create it, make sure to get those items for them.

8. There are more Cheekis in the game than are required to buy all of the upgrades, but not by much.