Aveyond Studios Community
disya75

Choises in dialogue

Question

10 answers to this question

You can do this by doing the following:

1. customize your dialog menu (the prefab) to contain the total number of choice options you want available. (each choice needs a game object)
  2. create a custom action based on Show Message. Modify the Add Choices field to accept more choices. You will also need to connect these new game objects to the new choices.

Try to build this, but if you get stuck, let me know. I'll have time this weekend to build something for you. 

Hello, Ant!
I tried to do everything myself, watched your video, but due to the fact that I'm not a programmer at all, it did not work for me (Unity constantly gives errors to different scripts) ... Now I'm completely confused and I really need your help!

I would be very grateful if you could create an action for me, allowing me to use my prefab, or simply explain in detail what and in which scripts needs to be changed.
Yours faithfully!

Here is the prefab of the dialog box I altered:

toAnt.jpg

@disya75, let's use these steps to add an extra button to the dialog box. If you need more buttons, just add more using the steps below.

Step 0: Download the two attachments at bottom of this post

• While building this tutorial, I discovered there was some hard-coded stuff for the buttons in a core script. This has been fixed so that you can work with as many buttons as you want. The updated script (UIDialog.cs) is attached below. If you have HeroKit 1.11, you do not need to download this script, as it will appear in this version and greater versions moving forward.
  • I've attached a sample working project with four buttons. I built this tutorial as I built that project.
  • The attachments are in Unity Asset Files. If you download and click on these, the files will install into the proper locations in your currently open Unity Project.

Step 1: Create Your Dialog Box with Extra Buttons

Spoiler