Aveyond Studios Community
Sign in to follow this  
Mizzou

'Kevin Bacon' theory confirmed

Here's an interesting news article. If you're not familiar with the 'Kevin Bacon' theory, it's also known as the 'Six Degrees of Separation.' It's the folklore that any two strangers on Earth are only separated by six people.

This was recently confirmed by a massive study of electronic communication. Researchers of the study "concluded that any two people on average are distanced by just 6.6 degrees of separation, meaning that they could be linked by a string of seven or fewer acquaintances."

Here's the link to the news article if your interested:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/25988549/ - Edit: link expired

Funny, how something that is just folklore doesn't become 'true' until it is 'proven' by science. By the way, I am a researcher myself but can be alittle skeptical about it at times.

EDIT: the original article seems to be expired. So here's a link to a similar article

http://www.guardian.co.uk/technology/2008/aug/03/internet.email

I always have to laugh when the average number of people is reported with a portion of a person (i.e. 0.6 people). I get a rather creepy image of only part of a person walking around in my head.

I'm not sure how population growth would affect the number but I could imagine that the increased use of the internet through out the world might decrease the number or keep the number the same.

I truly believe this theory....have you ever randomly sat next to someone and started speaking. I always find when I do this there is something I have in common with them. And several times I have found that they will know a person that I also know.

we used to play the kevin bacon game when i was in high school all the time...to pass the time...that means that the possibility of knowing someone who knows someone (etc) here on on AM is higher than we think...truly fascinating...

s